Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Preppers: Gardening for Success

Ok so you want a garden for free vegetables. Vegetables that you make and know there are no chemicals or pesticides in them. Well; how can we set ourselves up for success? 

I purchased a book by Robyn Jasko entitled home sweet home grown 

Her book is amazing! She teaches you everything you need to know! How far to space the plants, what to plant next to what and what to avoid, what to feed the plants, how to take care of them, and many many other tips! 

She is at the Union Square farmers market every Friday! She is super sweet and is always ready to help and answer any questions you have and she also sells her homemade hot sauces! She is getting me a Trinidad Scorpion Pepper & Ghost Pepper plant (hottest pepper in the world and second hottest pepper)

-homesweethomegrown.com

My garden is 20′ x 11′ This is the first time I am making a garden of this magnitude, but I have had small gardens before. So, I first planned out my garden and put up a really fine chicken wire fence to keep mostly my dog out and possibly a few rabbits out.  

 

Then I planted the plants approx every 8-12′ apart. Except the tomato plants I put them 24″ apart. I left room for me to walk through the garden and I sporadically planted marigolds to keep pests away (they don’t like the smell of them) and the marigolds also benefit the gardens balance. 

So I planted $63 of plants and the first day it was 83 degrees outside and I came home from work and the plants were all wilted! I thought I killed them all the first day! Luckily; I immediately watered them so much there were small puddles in the garden and this morning they were all sprung back up! The ground sucked in the water. I then woke up and when I saw them sprung up the ground was a little wet so, I watered them again with another impending 83 degree day today looking over my head. Luckily tomorrow is a 63 degree day. 

So here I was planning to make 2 concoctions to help my garden and the heat almost killed it before I could start. 

So; what was I going to make? Natural Rabbit/ Animal Repellant and weed killer. What’s the sense of growing vegetables of you aren’t the one eating them? 

How to Make Rabbit Repellent

Items needed:

  • empty milk jug, water
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers
  • 1 gallon water
  • 1 tablespoon dish soap

Directions:

To make the repellent fill an old milk jug with water, add 5 crushed garlic cloves, a teaspoon of crushed red peppers (you can save a packet from the pizza delivery for this) and 1 Tablespoon of dish soap. Shake well; then let it sit in the sun for a day or two to make sure the water is saturated with the flavors and smells. Shake well, then spray or pour on the plants that you don’t want the rabbits to eat.

I had to reapply once a week for a couple of weeks to convince the rabbits that my tulips were never going to taste good again. With my other bulbs I sprayed them as soon as they started to poke through the ground and then reapplied the repellent once a week and after it rains

premeditatedleftovers.com

I think I would substitute cayenne pepper as it is hotter and a finer powder and will coat the flowers better. 

Secondly: All Natural Weed Killer. Whatever you do, don’t mix these two bottles up!!!! 

How to make Natural Weed Killer: 

  
Get a spray bottle and combine one gallon white vinegar with one cup of salt and a few squirts of dish detergent. 

-lemongroveblog.com

It’s that easy! Preferably spray this on at 10am on a hot day and the sun will do the rest of the work and bake your weeds away! 

I will report in once I douse my garden and my fire pit! This evening! 

Between the 2 mixes and just plain water my garden should thrive! Oh and as long as you have a garden 

Never throw out: 

1. Egg shells

2. Banana Peels

3. Used coffee grounds

You can sprinkle them around the garden for natural fertilizer. 

Luckily; my wife is baking up a storm today so, I will have a bunch of egg shells to mash up and sprinkle throughout the garden. However; my garden is much too big. So I may have to buy cheap coffee from Costco and sprinkle it around. 

**Update** May 19th 2015

This past weekend I weeded the hell out of the garden for a good 1- 1 1/2 hours.

Then I sprinkled fertilizer around the garden. 

   

 

I watered the garden daily while it was hot and dry. The past couple days it has been raining and misting so God has helped me water it for free. I bought 2 bags of fertilizer, so the next hot day I will fertilize it again and water it again. Most of the plants are starting to shoot up! 

Ready for phase 2 the herb spiral.   Followed by phase 3 tomato cages and staking the plants that need it. My plan is to install hooks for the cucumbers to grow along the fence. I may install a lattice wall with hooks on it. Not sure yet. That’s part of phase 3 lol. 

**Tip** my wife is a hair dresser. She cut her families hair this weekend and I sprinkled the human hair clippings around the entry ways of the garden to help ward off animals. 

**Update** May 22nd 2015 

I started the bottom tier of my herb spiral and tomorrow I will complete it! 

Here is my basic layout!  


I got this off of Pinterest! Next to the dill I will add mint for my wife. She has been begging me for mint. Against my better judgement; (mint is an invasive pest just like bamboo) I am planting mint.  I am going to try and find watercress or water chestnuts for the pond. 

After I build the herb spiral I will re-fertilize everything and water it again. 

P.s. so far it hasn’t been hot enough (since I found the weed killer recipe) to use it. 

  
The herb spiral is complete! It contains: stevia, rosemary, thyme, hot and spicy oregano and Italian oregano, flat and curly parsley, sweet basil and Thai basil, lavender, cilantro, dill, mint and chocolate mint. 

**Update** May 24rd 2015

The garden is now completed with a trellis for the cucumber plants 

 
Then I put in labels for the herbs, because my wife thought they were cute. 

   

**Update** May 29th 2015

Hopefully I will be meeting up with Robyn Jasko at the Union Square Farmers Market to pick up a Scorpion Pepper and Ghost Pepper Plant today to super charge my Garden! 

Wednesday I was out in the garden in my underwear, a shirt and sandals during a thunderstorm with a handrake and I was raking all around the plants churning up the dirt so the water gets better penetration and pulling out the weeds. I left the weeds in the ground and just churned the dirt around. Hopefully the weeds will die and help fertilize the soil. 

We will see! The garden looks a million times better and the plants look huge since the storm! 

It’s going to be an adventure today transporting my plants back on the bus lol 

Today I have to change the water in the pond again, it must be done every 2-3 days so the water doesn’t get stagnant. The good part is; you can water your plants with the pond water!  So there is no wasting water. 

**Update** June 1st 2015

Ok so I have a bunch of ants in my garden and so far they haven’t done anything, but I am not taking a chance! I am whipping up a batch of organic any killer to exterminate the 20 or so any hills in my garden! 

Baking soda and powdered sugar! 

1/4 cup powdered sugar to 3/4 cup baking soda and sprinkle it around the ant hills they will eat it and bring it back and feed their queen and they will create carbon dioxide inside their bodies and the gas will kill them all! 

Boom! Bye bye ants! 

Leave a Reply

