Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Holistic Healing: Cleanse – Oil Pulling WTF is that?

20140524-100927-36567750.jpg“Oil pulling is one of the most remarkable methods of detoxification and healing I have ever experienced… It helped me overcome a chronic skin problem that [I was previously] unable to cure.”

– Dr. Bruce Fife, naturopath doctor, nutritionist, and master detoxer

When I first heard that quote, I had two thoughts:

What the heck is oil pulling?

Whatever it is, I gotta check it out!
For those of you who are in the dark like I was, oil pulling is an ancient detoxification art that started in India as oil gargling thousands of years ago.

In 1992, Dr. F. Karach, MD introduced oil pulling in the US and used it in his medical practice with great success.

I started this practice a while ago and wow, it made a big difference. I literally no longer feel the need to brush my teeth. I know this may sound weird but that’s how well oil pulling cleans my mouth! Furthermore, my sinuses have never been clearer, my headaches have disappeared, and I feel that it is really helping my body detoxify.

I recommend it for anyone that has canker sores, teeth abscesses, sinus issues, etc. I’m still trying to convince my hubby, who is still a bit skeptical, to get onboard.

Why not try doing it for a week and see if you notice the difference?

How oil pulling works

It’s easy. Just take a tablespoon of raw vegetable oil and swish it around in your mouth for five minutes. Doing so activates enzymes that have a powerful detoxifying affect on our entire system; they literally pull toxins, bacteria, fungus, and other nasty bugs from the mouth and the entire body, helping to cleanse our blood. Since our mouths are a focal point for bacteria and microorganisms that mix with our saliva and eventually reach our bloodstream, you can see how wiping these bad guys out with oil pulling makes a profound impact on our bodies.

According to long-time devotees, oil pulling has the power to alleviate migraine headaches, asthma, diabetes, bronchitis, diseased teeth, chronic blood disorders such as leukemia, arthritis, eczema, heart and kidney disease, meningitis, hormonal disorders, etc.

How to do oil pulling

Pull toxins from your blood and freshen your breath in five easy steps.

Find a high-quality vegetable oil. Most people use cold-pressed sunflower or sesame oils. I prefer using raw coconut oil since it is one of the healthiest oils in the world and helps boost the thyroid. (where to buy coconut oil)

Right after you wake up, drink a glass or two of water to start your saliva flow and then take about 1 tablespoon of oil into your mouth. Swish it around for as long as you can. Start with 5 minutes and gradually increase to 15 to 20 minutes. I plop it into my mouth and swish away as I make my breakfast and pack my lunch.
Do not swallow the oil – it’s loaded with toxins! (But don’t beat yourself up if you accidentally do.) It is vital to spit out this oil after 15-20 minutes of swishing. Spit it out in the trash (not the sink as it can clog pipes) because this is the safest, cleanest and best way to eliminate used oil.

Be sure to wash out your mouth thoroughly to help clean out any lingering bacteria or toxins.
Ta da! You’re done. Now go about your day knowing that you’ve done a great thing for your overall healing.
If you’re already healthy, a once a day oil pulling will help keep you that way. If you have more acute conditions, gradually build up to oil pulling 3 times a day before each meal.

How To Do Oil Pulling (With An Extra Detox Twist)

Oil pulling is an ancient detoxification practice. Simple and inexpensive, it can reduce dental plaque, re-mineralize teeth, strengthen your gums and fight gingivitis. It attracts and removes bacteria and toxins that live in your mouth and lymph system, and can pull congestion from your sinuses.

Aside from the studies done, the most encouraging accounts are from people who practice it daily. Thousands report improvements in everything from allergies to migraines to even depression. It’s becoming more and more “mainstream” and even some dentists are recommending it to their patients.

Supercharge Your Oiling Pulling

You can supercharge your oil pulling practice by adding 100% therapeutic grade essential oils (here are the ones I recommend and use.) Add 1 drop of essential oil per teaspoon of your swishing oil.

I’ve used 3 different kinds:

1. Lemon. A known detoxifier and cleanser, lemon is a wonderful, bright and gentle addition to my oil pulling routine. Young Living’s Lemon oil contains 68% of d-limonene, a powerful antioxidant.

2. Peppermint. For a fresh mouth feel, I like to add a drop of peppermint in my swishing oil. Peppermint is also great for opening up the sinus passages, and can even promote a feeling of satiety.

3. Thieves. A powerful essential oil blend, I like using Thieves to boost my immune system and reduce any tooth sensitivity. This special oil is scientifically documented to be anti-infectious, antiviral, antibacterial, and antiseptic.

All three of these oils are part of the Young Living Premium Starter Kit, a great deal and introduction to the world of essential oils. (You can learn more about here.)

You can also try oregano oil, which is great for thrush and candida issues. Clove oil is good for mouth pain from tooth abscesses, extractions or teething pain.

Pregnancy and Breastfeeding

I get a lot of questions about the safety of oil pulling while pregnant or nursing. Before you do anything, I would check in with your healthcare provider. Next, the general rule of thumb is if you’ve been oil pulling before pregnancy or nursing, you are probably fine continuing the practice. If you are new to it and in good health, I would say start slowly… a few times a week for 5 minutes and build your way up. Again, check this out with your healthcare provider as this has just been my experience.

– mamanatural.com

Last night I tried Oil Pulling at a party, yes you are probably thinking to yourselves, wow what nerds! Lol when you are bored you do a bunch of crazy things lol. Get a bunch of fitness minded people in a room and just see what they come up with next.

Well; after hearing about the benefits and how it’s an ancient Ayurvedic practice (and you know how I love Ayurveda: remember my healthy healing oatmeal post and my healing soup post)

I decided what the hell lets do it! So another guy and I decided WTF lets do it! It’s funny because the girl that originally brought it up chickened out!!!

Anyway; Putting the solid coconut oil in your mouth is the worst part! You almost want to gag!

**Hint** use your tongue to break up the oil ASAP!

Once it’s liquid it’s not that bad! However; once it gets thicker and doubles in size it begins to suck again and you find yourself staring at the timer to hurry up and spit that crap out!

**Hint** here’s another great hint! After rinsing a couple times with warm water, I made a cup of Oolong Tea (good for fat burning)

I figured if this is drawing stuff out then the body is receptive to also absorb. With your skin if you draw stuff out your pores, your pores are then open and susceptible to absorb. So I figured Oolong would be perfect to absorb! Especially; though the bottom of my mouth under my tongue! I swished the warm tea a few times in my mouth. I probably should have spot the first mouthful out! Further cleansing it. Next time I will! But after drinking the tea, the reside was gone, my mouth was refreshed and my teeth felt squeaky clean!

Since you are detoxing; I suggest drinking a Detox tea like Mate Fit, Tiny Tea or Skinny Tea. Check out the Teatox challenge here on this site!

I do want to try it again; but I will definitely not be doing it daily!

I’m thinking once a week will suffice! Maybe even once a month!

I do love the idea of adding a drop of essential oils especially peppermint! That might make it more enjoyable and make you more apt to do it!

There’s a point where too much detoxing can cause harm!

For example: excess washing of your hair removes protective oils. Too much detoxing drinks cause Diaharrea. (Diaharrea is a common cause of death in developing countries and the second most common cause of infant deaths worldwide)

So, I personally think everything in moderation is a good rule of thumb!

I think this can be added to your detox tool belt along with:

The daily lemon cleanse (reviewed on this site)

Teatoxes (check out the teatox challenge currently going on, on this site)

Green Life Market (also reviewed on this site) makes a homemade juice detox available in person at the juice bar or to be purchased in mason jars and brought home. (Please clean and return the mason jars it helps keep the cost down)

An herbal cleanse utilizing herbs like: dandelion root, burdock, senna and milk thistle.

Add probiotics

Hydration and Alkazone (pH drops)
(Reviewed here on this site)

Take in a sauna for a few minutes

A little Cayenne Pepper to increase blood circulation (our body’s filtration system)

Build a strong detox toolbelt and utilize it at least once a month and you will feel better!

Try it and tell me what you think!

Still hesitant? Check out this video, at least the girl is cute! Lol

Now we men know why some girls take hours to get ready!

Do oil pulling for 20min first thing in the morning, then lemon cleanse, then shower and shave, then put on lotion and deodorant, then get dressed followed by hair and makeup, then eat, then go back and brush your teeth. Anything I forgot? Lol

By that time 3hrs have passed! If your girl is already at the 3hr mark for God’s sake don’t tell her about Oil Pulling or you will be home forever and you will wonder why she is getting up at 3am to get to work by 9! Lol

Stay tuned for Oil Pulling with p
Peppermint essential oil! Yes I will subject myself to this again for your pleasure! Lol I’m going to get the oil from Green Life Market!

Leave a Reply

