Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Recipe: How to make homemade Quest like Bars!

20140129-234003.jpg

Ok here we go! This is the most disgusting thing that tastes amazing I ever had on my hand! I almost wanted to cry! I couldn’t get it off my hand ugh!!

20131231-201939.jpg
But once I got it off my hand! It was the most amazing low carb thing I ever tasted!

PB&J Better than Quest bars
Ingredients:
1 cup Almond Flour
(grind almonds to dust)
4 tbsp fiber powder (Walmart brand benefiber ripoff unflavored)
4 tbsp sugar free jelly (I used strawberry preserves with fiber)
8 scoops ETB – Eat the Bear protein (I used cinnamon bun)
1 cup PB2 powered peanut butter mixed with water to make peanut butter
And as much extra water as needed (I probably could have used a little more!)

Pour everything in mixing bowl (save a little protein powder to rub your hands with and maybe it won’t stick as bad to your hands (I didn’t do that probably should have)
Then kneed the dough with your hands until fully mixed and put in a wax paper lined pan and spread as best as possible

20131231-202831.jpg
Refrigerate for 30 min at the least then you can slice into bars and enjoy!

DIY Quest Bars! Can you believe it? They are so good! Right now Quest Bars are all the rage. Why are they so popular? They are LOADED with protein! I love Quest Bars because they contain the protein that I need after a good workout, and they keep me full. However, what I don’t love is the price. One Quest Bar is $2.49! If you’re like me, and you eat protein bars as snacks, $2.49 can be a very expensive snack. That’s why I decided to make my own Quest Bars. These DIY Quest Bars are affordable and just as delicious. There are different variations to these bars depending on what flavor you want, below are some suggestions!

Ingredients ~for the basic dough~ (makes 5 Bars):
4 Scoops All Natural Vanilla Protein Powder (Depending on the brand, different protein powders have different textures. You want your powder to be as fine as possible, otherwise your bars will taste grainy)
1/4 cup Organic Creamy Peanut Butter (If you don’t like peanut butter, you can use sun butter, cashew butter, or almond butter, anything will work!)
1/2 cup of honey, agave nectar, or a few tsp of stevia (If you choose to use stevia, you will need more water)
1/4 cup Oat Flour (or fiber powder or ground flax seed)
*A few Tbsp of Water (depending on what sweetener you use, you will need more or less water)

Variations:
Depending on the flavor, you will need to add a few extra ingredients to your dough.
~Cinnamon Roll Quest Bar: add 1/2 Tbsp of cinnamon to your dough
~Chocolate Brownie Quest Bar: add 1-2 Tbsp of cocoa powder to your dough
~Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Quest Bar: add 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to your dough

Directions:
With your hands, combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Kneed the dough until all of the ingredients are well distributed. Press into a baking pan lined with parchment paper and refrigerate for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, cut the dough into 5 equal pieces and eat! Store these bars in the refrigerator. Enjoy!

20131231-203157.jpg
Chocolate Brownie “Quest” Bar

20131231-203258.jpg
Cinnamon Roll “Quest” Bar

20131231-203346.jpg
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Quest Bar

Nutrition Facts (for 1 bar):

Calories-170

Carbohydrates- 12 grams

Fat- 8 grams

Protein- 20 grams

Sugars- 3 grams

Cholesterol- 0mg

Fiber- 2g

-original idea by: sweetcheetah.com

My bars use PB2 and almond flour/fiber powder so the fat is probably more for almond flour and less for PB2 instead of real peanut butter so it probably evens out fat wise. But because I used fiber powder and strawberry preserves with fiber the fiber is much higher and net carbs are much lower.

I also used ETB protein which is less calories 110 per scoop and 25g of protein to their 20g

I licked my hand when I was done scraping it off, so I know it tastes absolutely amazing!! I can’t wait to try a full bar!

**Update**
My first attempt taste absolutely amazing!! But it’s still a glue consistency even after chilling overnight. It’s stuck to the wax paper and when you slice it sticks to the knife. I am afraid to wrap it in Saran Wrap fearing I will never get it open to eat it. I am currently trying to freeze it to see if I can work with it semi frozen.

I think I need more almond flour! I am going to use Trader Joe’s next time it’s a little more money than grinding your own but the consistency will be better! The vitamix made half the almonds like almond flour and half like almond butter and that might be what made it like glue!

20140101-124536.jpg
Because I didn’t add enough almond flour I had to dust them with it to get them not to stick to the cling wrap

Lessons learned:
Cooking is just like anything in life, if at first you don’t succeed try try again.

Don’t just give up because it didn’t come out right the first time! I bet if you ask all the popular Chefs: Robert Irvine, Bobby Flay, Giada, Alton Brown; I bet they all screwed up their favorite recipes before they perfected it. If they would have just given up then they wouldn’t be where they are now!

Never Give up!

Today we are going to try to make an alternative bar:

My friends mother is allergic to whey protein and peanut butter, so we are going to use egg protein and specaloos cookie butter. The rest of the ingredients will be the same! And I am taking note of the almond flour and using Trader Joe’s Almond Meal and increasing the amount. We are also adding more psyllium fiber powder.

20140104-223425.jpg
Coming soon:
Apple crumb: gala apples, cinnamon and nutmeg

20140119-213754.jpg
Reader submitted photo: John Critchfield
One batch: specaloos & organic grape jelly
One batch: Peanut Butter & organic grape jelly

**Update** January 22nd 2014
I made Apple Pie Homemade Quest Bars, because I taught Johnny above how to make them, I named my homemade Quest Bars: Johnny Quest Bars! So from now on they will be referred to as Johnny Quest Bars.

Ok so I made Apple Pie Johnny Quest Bars.

Ingredients:
10 Scoops ETB Cinnamon Bun Protein
(However; I ran out after 5 scoops so I finished with all I had- 5 scoops Chocolate Peanut Butter ETB)
6-10tsp Trader Joes Psyllium Husk
1tbsp Nutmeg
2 tbsp organic Cinnamon (organic Cinnamon contains Cinnamon oil)
3 large Gala Apples (peeled and diced small)
4tsp Truvia
I also used 1 1/3 cups of Cashew Flour instead of Almond Flour this time.

Because you don’t have PB&J you will need more water like 1/3 cup or more to make everything stick.

20140123-001506.jpg
I dusted the top with extra Cinnamon and Nutmeg so it soaks in the apples.

Next time I think I would put the Cinnamon, Stevia and Nutmeg In first and stir the apples with the spices so they are fully coated. Then add the Nut Flour, Fiber, Protein and water. I would also make it 1.5 cups nut flour

20140123-111014.jpg
If you look at it you will see its extremely sticky. I then dust it with the nut flour. I used cashew flour this time. So, that way it doesn’t stick to the Saran Wrap and you can hold it and it won’t stick to your fingers. If you leave them out of the fridge they will harden up if you leave them in they will stay soft and chewy! I like them soft and chewy. You can also shape them into Johnny Quest bars after you dust them or leave them like brownies it’s entirely up to you.

In case you are wondering why Johnny Quest Bars…

1. It’s a pun on Quest Bars
2. It’s a pun on Jonny Quest the cartoon

20140123-112013.jpg
3. John helped me make the first alternative (non PB&J batch) and he makes them for his parents now.

So there you go: Johnny Quest Bars
Since this is a news site and I am not selling them, I can call them whatever I want 😝

I wrapped them this morning and it’s sooo hard not to eat them now, and wait before the gym

Get Creative! And feel free to share your combinations, and comments!

Send images to: louisjbianco@gmail.com

(That goes for any recipe here)

Eat the Bear Protein

6 responses

  1. Sarah

    Last night I had the pleasure of trying Louis J’s homemade apple cinnamon quest bars!!! Let me tell you, they were delicious and very simple to make even a little fun! (you will no what I mean if you make them :)) Having the raw apple pieces made it even easier to eat this little snack. I felt totally satisfied and had no guilt!! It felt like a cheat day, while I was gaining about 35 more grams of protein!! You have some brilliant ideas Lou!! 😉

    January 23, 2014 at 6:25 PM

  2. John Critchfield

    I must say Louis J these bars have changed my life. That day when I went to your house to make them watching my eagles lose was a huge day in my life. I will explain why. The reason is because my mom who is a fitness freak loves to eat protein bars and she always eat healthy and recently she has gotten a milk, peanut butter and many other allergies so I made her these bars with egg protein and cookie butter. She eats 1 a day and maybe even 2 they are the best thing it has changed her life forever. I also make them for my step dad who can’t have gluten which is in most protein bars!! So thank you Louis J Bianco!!!!

    February 13, 2014 at 10:04 PM

    • You’re welcome glad I could help! And glad they enjoy them!

      February 13, 2014 at 10:05 PM

  3. Paxton

    Since the etb protein is 1 scoop per serving and the protein is 2 scoops per serving but same amount of protein do you use the serving size for your protein or do you know the cup size of the etb like is it 1/2 cup

    April 7, 2015 at 12:16 PM

    • I use 2 scoops of any I like the extra protein

      April 7, 2015 at 12:17 PM

    • You can use as much protein as you want but you might have to add a little more water to the mixture. Remember the more you add the higher the calories. You have to give a healthy balance.

      April 7, 2015 at 12:19 PM

Leave a Reply

