Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Restaurant Review: Food Truck – Mesquite Manorville, NY

I passed this food truck on the side of 111 ever since may and I have been wanting to stop, but I’m always fighting traffic on the way home. Today I figured its fri and screwed anyway! Lets just check it out and I’m glad I did!

I got a duck taco, at $4.25 it wasn’t a great buy as it was really small, but it did taste good!

I got a steak burrito to go and ate it in the car just before I’m writing this lol.

20130823-162829.jpg

20130823-162839.jpg
The steak burrito rocked! It was packed and heavy! It was bursting with flavor! Packed with rice, guacamole and sour cream. The the guacamole was homemade and light. A creamy consistency not like the
normal green gluey substance.

The best part was the homemade picante sauce with blackened tomatoes you could not see it, but you could taste the smoky char and it had a strong yummy fresh cilantro taste!

Would I go back yes!! Would I get tacos? No! Well I might just have to try their mahi mahi taco! But I would definitely get a burrito!

Check them out they even have cute outdoor seating!

Ps driving and blogging is dangerous and illegal do not try this at home!

5 responses

  1. Dominick S / Westchester

    I also kept driving by week after week until I couldn’t stand it and finally stopped at this interesting little establishment on an early evening that made them look more like The Hard Rock Cafe on a Friday night than a small roadside concession. Wow did they get busy in the 70 minutes we were there! I waited 15 minutes for our order which consisted of a fish taco, a shrimp blt taco, a pulled pork taco, nachos locos, a meat quesadilla, a burrito and a bowl of chipotle chili. My friends and I were not disappointed in the least. Delicious and fresh while different from most others we thought. During our stay several conversations with staff and patrons made us feel welcome, comfortable and unaware at times of the busy roadway traffic so close by. A very warm and simple atmosphere with cute picnic tables, a covered fire pit and patrons from small children to grand parents. We found ourselves so comfortable with food and conversation in the unique outdoor woodsy setting that we almost didn’t want to get back on the road until we realized that with another hour and a half we really had to go. And the prices ???,,, well I’ve paid a lot more for a lot less many times. This fare was fresh and intelligently prepared for sure. Some specialty items were a bit pricey but our group would not hesitate to become repeat offenders. I think most would agree that paying a little more for fresh is well worth the expense. PS Going back this coming weekend to sample more items and order firewood for the winter. Many recommendations for the people that created the firewood and log displays near the food truck during our meal so we called on the way home and found the man very informative, helpful and honest. Really glad we finally took the time to stop there.

    September 22, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    • Did you see the hippie, I think its the owner playing acoustic guitar by the road sitting on the curb? He was very nice.

      September 22, 2013 at 9:12 PM

  2. Jen

    Do you have a contact for the firewood guy?

    December 8, 2013 at 3:25 PM

    • I will be going through there possibly later this month or the beginning next month, if no one finds it by then ill try and remember to stop.

      December 10, 2013 at 11:28 AM

      • Jen

        Thanks!

        December 10, 2013 at 4:33 PM

Leave a Reply

