Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Preppers: EDC – Everyday Carry

A new fad that has probably been around since the dawn of time, but has suddenly hit the mainstream:

Doomsday Preppers:
It’s not as crazy as you think; although some tend to go overboard!

Businesses and large corporations have what’s called a (BCP) Business Continuity Plan. What it is, is a plan to keep their business running in a disaster. A company should have a portfolio of BCPs one for each disaster.
Examples:
Hurricane
Tornado
Psunami
Terrorist attack
Gas shortage and others maybe even a zombie apocalypse. Lol

So, if a company has a BCP, why shouldn’t you? After all, your family and their survival is the most important thing in the world to you… Isn’t it?

Well, in the next 2 posts we will be looking at 2 essential tools of any Preppers arsenal:

The Bugout Bag and the EDC -everyday carry.

What is everyday carry? Is it weird? Is it a foreign idea, unknown to us? Well, for people of extreme cold areas such as, Alaska and Canada its an everyday way of life, be prepared or be dead!

Definition:
Everyday Carry, or EDC, generally refers to small items or gadgets worn, carried, or made available in pockets, holsters, or bags on a daily basis to manage common tasks or for use in unexpected situations or emergencies. In a broader sense, it is a lifestyle, discipline, or philosophy of preparedness.
-Everyday-carry.com

On that site everyone shares their EDC down to the actual brand:

1. Oakley sunglasses – I either wear: 5 squared, gascans or in the summer at the beach I’ll wear Versace or Armani glasses

2. Watch – I don’t like things on my hand, but I keep a GShock in the car and a bunch at home in my safe.

3. Any pen I can get my hands on, sometimes it’s a gel pen, sometimes it’s a bic (typically from some business like the Hampton inn) sometimes it’s even a stainless steel pen

4. I always have my p38 can opener on my key ring

5. Always have a blade of some sort in my pocket and in my car: cold steel recon 1 when I’m in uniform or a 5.11 tactical cub master 2 Tarani folding karambit

6. Wallet: I use a HuMn carbon fiber – RFID blocking wallet.

7. Surefire flashlight on me and 3 cell mag light with xenon bulb and extra batteries in the glove compartment of my car.

8. I have an Under Armour backpack in my car, it contains: a first-aid kit, pens, mechanical pencil, multitool, Oakley gloves with the Carbon fiber knuckles, signal mirror aka shaving mirror, fox-40 whistle (which during hiking season I use to scare away bears) usually a pair of sneakers, small stick of gel deodorant and various straps for the gym (it doubles as my gym bag) there is also other items I can’t recall off the top of my head. Paracord bracelet which I own but don’t usually wear. I also have my rain gear and a jacket and my beach blanket in the trunk.

One response

  1. Jual

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

    January 12, 2016 at 7:29 PM

Leave a Reply

