Freedom, Business, Controversy and Fitness

Just ate the Naga Jolokia: Ghost Pepper

I just ate the hottest pepper in the world the Naga Jolokia AKA Ghost Pepper.
20111030-162512.jpg

I was fearing the worst And fully prepared for battle. Only to be let down.

20111030-162917.jpg

The pepper itself was surprisingly super sweet and had an incredible taste! Then came the heat! It was bad but wasn’t the worst I’ve tasted! For that see the post: 9,800 °F… temperature of the Earth’s Core or is it the temperture of The World’s hottest Hot Sauce? Further down this page.

Bhut Jolokia AKA Naga Jolokia AKA Ghost Pepper
In 2007, Guinness World Records certified the Bhut Jolokia as the world’s hottest chili pepper, 401.5 times hotter than Tabasco sauce.

The Naga Jolokia has been tested at over 1,001,300 Scoville heat units! Almost twice as hot as the old champ, the
Red Savina Habanero.

Naga Jolokia is also called Bih Jolokia in some places of Assam (Bih = Poison, Jolokia = chile pepper; in Assamese). Other names are Bhut Jolokia (probably due to its ghostly bite or introduction by the Bhutias from Bhutan poison chile), Borbih Jolokia, Nagahari, Nagajolokia, Naga Morich, Dorset Naga (from a farm market in the UK), Naga Moresh, Raja Mirchi (the king of chiles) and Ghost Pepper (because after eatin one you “give up the Ghost”). These are all the same chile but named differently at different places (a common problem when trying to identify chile peppers). The Naga name may be due to extreme hotness represented by the aggressive temperament of the warriors of neighboring Naga community. Chile is known as Morich in Bangla.
-ushotstuff.com

**News Flash** Where do I go from here? Well ⬇

Naga Viper
12/1/10 – There may be a new world record heat level set for chile peppers. It is reported that Gerald Fowler, who runs a chili pepper company in Cumbria, England has produced a chile pepper he calls the “Naga Viper”, measuring at a whopping 1,359,000 SHU.

Trinidad Scorpion
A Trinidad Scorpion pepper grown in New South Wales, Australia, was tested and according to Guinness World Records as of 1 March 2011, is currently the hottest chile pepper grown. It measured 1,463,700 SHU (Scoville Heat Units).

Copyright © 2011 louisjbianco All Rights Reserved.

**Update**
Just bought a different brand and ate one pepper and it was considerably hotter!

20121022-141253.jpg
I made a big mistake last night. I am on a diet and I ate one of the peppers and as it was hot it wasn’t bad, but all I ate after was a can of tuna, so the pepper and the tuna were sitting in my stomach. About an hour later my stomach was burning so bad!! I had to chew tums like candy to stop the burn, for a min I thought I might have to go to the hospital and get my stomach pumped, but luckily the tums worked and I then had a cup of yogurt.

Moral of the story: make sure you have a full stomach when eating them!!

Copyright © 2012 louisjbianco All Rights Reserved.

One response

  1. The Family Ghost.
    I ate the Ghost pepper earlier and placed the knife in the sink. Whomever washed the knife didn’t do a good job, so later my 12 almost 13 yr old Nephew and 5yr old Niece had a piece of chocolate cake for dessert and he says to his Mom why are my lips tingling, She says you’re crazy! Try it again, he said this cake is hot, she said try it again he said my mouth is burning. My Niece tried it and said my lips are burning. Then, my Sister remembered the Ghost Pepper hours earlier! They both sat eating bread with a wet paper towel on their lips, Official Members of the Family Ghost!

    October 30, 2011 at 8:10 PM

Leave a Reply

